Sunset in the Rearview

20120510-112815.jpg

I like to drive on hot nights with the window down. Last night the unexpected smell of fresh cut hay reminded me of growing up in Wyoming and riding a motorcycle along the irrigation canals. I passed an old corner market as the sun set in my rearview. The store’s pink paint flaking and peeling. Its liquor sign glowed warm but I felt no pull unlike the year I pickled my sorrow to preserve it.

Memories, pleasant and painful, behind and beside. Driving toward the next corner expecting lilacs around the bend.

Published by

Shannon

Sharing thoughts on writing, gardening, and baseball.

Leave a Reply

