Chimes for Kim

I remember your deep laugh and how much you enjoyed rattling the neighbors by placing odd objects in your front yard. How it amused you that one neighbor kept asking you the meaning of the shiny blue egg placed by itself beneath an old pine tree.

“What do you think it means?” you always asked him in response. Then that bold, brazen laugh. “I’ll never tell him I simply like the color blue.”

Strange how much I thought of you yesterday when I heard wind chimes at the garden center–a serene tinkling. The sound gave me a sense of peacefulness. I needed to buy one. Out of yellow and green and purple, I picked blue.

What does a short video of a blue wind chime mean?

It means I simply miss you.

Published by

Shannon

Sharing thoughts on writing, gardening, and baseball.

2 thoughts on “Chimes for Kim”

Leave a Reply

